West Berkshire Countryside Society

Event Diary January 2022 – March 2022

“The events below give you the opportunity to come out on practical tasks, learn new skills, meet new people and, above all, enjoy yourself. The tasks usually begin around 10am and finish by 3pm but you are very welcome to come for as much time as you wish to give during these hours. Please wear suitable footwear, clothing and working gloves, and bring a packed lunch and drinks if you are coming for the full day. All of the relevant tools will be available.”

Tue-04 Jan-22

Bucklebury Common

Heathland management. Clearing invasive scots pine and silver birch. Meet at Angels Corner SU550 688

Sun-9-Jan-22 10.30am-1.00pm

Bucklebury Common

Join the Bucklebury Heathland Group to help maintain this important heathland habitat. Meet at Angels Corner SU 550 688

Tue-11 Jan-22

Holt Lodge Farm, Kintbury

 Meet at Holt Lodge Farmhouse near Kintbury. Woodland Maintenance,

SU387 648.

Tue-18 Jan-22

Redhill Wood Hampstead Marshall

Ride widening and brash clearance. Parking off road, park on entrance to the main ride SU419 642

Tue-25 Jan-22

Hockets Field Bucklebury

Brash clearing along hedge line Park on the hard standing at SU548 687

Tue-01 Feb-22

Sulham Farm

Coppicing & stool protection park along the track adjacent to Sulham Church SU645 742

Tue-08 Feb-22

Malt House, West Woodhay

Hedge Laying and maintenance, meet at the farm house SU395 637

Sat-12-Feb-22 10.30am-1.00pm

Bucklebury Common

Join the Bucklebury Heathland Group to help maintain this important heathland habitat. Meet at Angels Corner SU 550 688

Tue-15 Feb-22

Sheepdrove, Lambourne

Continue  with hedge work   Park near the red barn. Do not use sat nav guidance to locate this site. SU349 816

Tue-22 Feb-22

Furze Hill, Hermitage.

Woodland and butterfly habitat management on this parish wildlife site. Ample parking at village hall – through double gates off Pinewood Crescent SU512 740

Tue-01 Mar-22

Hillgreen, Leckhampstead

Scrub clearance, park along the track by the common SU452 767

Tue-08 Mar-22

The Malt House, West Woodhay

Hedge Laying and maintenance, meet at the farm house SU395 637

Sun-13-Mar-22 10.30am-1.00pm

Bucklebury Common

Join the Bucklebury Heathland Group to help maintain this important heathland habitat. Meet at Angels Corner SU 550 688

Tue-15 Mar-22

Cold Ash

Maintenance work on the Parish Wildlife site. Park on the access track to Westrop Farm off The Ridge  SU514 701 vehicles carrying tools should park in the layby off The Ridge just by the allotments at SU514 699

Tue-22 Mar-22

Rushall Manor Farm, off Back Lane, Bradfield

Woodland management and ride widening. Meet at the Black Barn off Back Lane between Stanford Dingley and Bradfield. SU584 723

Tue-29 Mar-22

Moor Copse Nature Reserve Tidmarsh

Footpath clearing for BBOWT. Park in the entrance to the Nature Reserve at SU633 738

   

The quarter’s walk with Charles Gilchrist:

Sun-20 Feb-22 10:30am

The Trees of Ashampstead Common,

a walk with Charles Gilchrist

 

Join Charles for a walk around Ashampstead Common looking at some of the wonderful trees on the common. Park at the Common entrance just past “The Cottage” along Sucks Lane Ashampstead, RG8 8QT  SU576 751